Click on a name below to learn more about our faculty and staff.

Core Faculty

Charlotte Baker

Charlotte Baker, DrPH, MPH, CPH
Assistant Professor
(540) 231-3092
bakerc@vt.edu

Andrea Bertke

Andrea Bertke, PhD
Associate Professor
(540) 231-5733
asbertke@vt.edu

Alasdair Cohen portrait

Alasdair Cohen, PhD, MPH, MSc
Assistant Professor
(540) 231-9010
agcohen@vt.edu

Natalie Cook portrait

Natalie Cook, PhD
Assistant Professor
necook@vt.edu

Cornelia Deagle portrait

Cornelia Deagle, PhD, MSPH
Assistant Professor
(540) 231-6191
corneliadeagle19@vt.edu

Julia M Gohlke, Asst Professor, Population Health Sciences Dept.

Julia Gohlke

Julia Gohlke, PhD
Associate Professor
(540) 231-7880
jgohlke@vt.edu

Kathy Hosig, Associate Professor, Population Health Sciences Dept

Kathy Hosig

Kathy Hosig, PhD, MPH, RD
Associate Professor
Director
Center for Public Health Practice and Research
(540) 231-6637
khosig@vt.edu

Laura Hungerford

Laura Hungerford, DVM, MPH, PhD, CPH
Professor
Department Head
Department of Population Health Sciences
Interim Director
Master of Public Health (MPH) Program
(540) 231-3532
lhungerf@vt.edu

Patrick Pithua

Patrick Pithua, BVM, MSc, PhD, DLSHTM
Associate Professor
(540) 231-5001
ppithua@vt.edu

Kerry Redican

Kerry Redican

Kerry Redican, PhD, MSPH, MPH
Professor
Director
Undergraduate Public Health Programs
Coordinator
Graduate Certificate in Public Health
(540) 231-5743
kredican@vt.edu

Rachel Silverman portrait

Rachel Silverman, PhD, ScM
Research Scientist
Epidemiology
Center for Public Health Practice and Research
(540) 231-1865
rsilverman@vt.edu

Sophie Wenzel

Sophie Wenzel, DrPH, MPH
Assistant Professor of Practice
Associate Director
Center for Public Health Practice and Research
(540) 231-8173
swenzel@vt.edu

Jenni Zambriski portrait

Jenni Zambriski, DVM, PhD
Assistant Professor
(540) 231-4529
jzambriski@vt.edu

Amy Smith portrait

Amy Smith, PhD, CHES
Assistant Professor
asmith@vt.edu


Secondary Faculty

Jennifer Hodgson

Jennifer Hodgson, BVSc, DipVetPath, GradCertEdStud, PhD, Diplomate, ACVM
Professor
Associate Dean for Professional Programs
Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine
(540) 231-5229
jennieh@vt.edu

Tom Kerkering

Thomas Kerkering, MD, FACP, FIDSA
Adjunct Professor
(540) 981-7715
tmkerk@vt.edu

Molly O'Dell

Molly O'Dell, MD, MFA, FAAFP
Adjunct Professor

Jacque Pelzer

Jacquelyn Pelzer, DVM
Associate Professor of Practice
Director of Admissions and Student Services
Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine
(540) 231-7018
jpelzer@vt.edu

Valerie Ragan

Valerie Ragan, DVM
Associate Professor of Practice
Director
Center for Public and Corporate Veterinary Medicine
(540) 231-1176
vragan@vt.edu

Cassidy Rist

Cassidy Rist, DVM, MPH, DACVPM
Assistant Professor
Center for Public and Corporate Veterinary Medicine
(540) 231-3373
crist6@vt.edu


Emeritus Faculty

Bill Pierson

Frank William Pierson, MS, DVM, PhD, Diplomate, ACPV
Professor Emeritus
pierson@vt.edu


Staff

Becky Jones portrait

Becky Jones
Program Assistant
(540) 231-3945
bjones57@vt.edu
Room 338
VA-MD College of Veterinary Medicine
205 Duck Pond Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Lynn Margheim

Lynn Margheim, MS
Instructional Design Specialist
lmarghei@vt.edu

Portrait of Angela Mathias

Angela Mathias
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
(540) 231-6813
mathias@vt.edu
Room B
262 Wallace Hall
295 West Campus Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Hannah Menefee, Public Health Program Coordinator, Population Health Sciences Dept.

Hannah Menefee

Hannah Menefee, MPH
Program Coordinator
(540) 231-1861
hmenefee@vt.edu